The Florida State University  
Page supergraphic  >   About   >   Overview


FSU College of Motion Picture Arts students have qualified more motion pictures for the Coca-Cola Refreshing Filmmaker awards in the last eight years than any other motion picture school.  FSU students won the award in 2000 and 2004.

Student Academy Awards

student oscar

The FSU College of Motion Picture Arts has won a total of eight "Student Oscars" from the Academy of Motion Picture and placed as a regional finalist sixteen times (four times in the year 2003 alone).  Four student titles have gone on to win top awards in festivals that qualified them for entry into the non-student Oscars.

Student Emmys

The FSU College of Motion Picture Arts has won a total of 30 collegiate Emmys from the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Foundation.  In 2003 the College was the first school in the history of the Academy to place First, Second, and Third in the comedy category.  In 2004 the College set another Academy record by being the first school to win five student Emmys in one year (two First Place, two Second Place, and one Third Place).  It won more awards (three First Place and one Second Place) than any other motion picture program in the nation in 2011.


About the College of Motion Picture Arts

Outside of the Film School - University Center

The Film School is located in FSU's University Center

A Legacy of Film Education in Florida

In 1989, the Florida State Legislature founded a flagship program in Tallahassee designed to prepare young filmmakers for successful careers in the entertainment industry.  More than twenty years later, the presence of The Florida State University College of Motion Picture Arts can be seen throughout the industry and around the world.

Innovative Programs in Filmmaking

The College offers career-centered graduate and undergraduate programs that challenge students to master the art, craft, and business of storytelling.  Students work intimately with respected faculty and visiting filmmakers who share a gift for teaching the art of storytelling, a blend of industry experts that has included Victor Nunez, Richard Portman, Rexford Metz, and Chip Chalmers as well as younger accomplished professionals such as Valerie Scoon, Reb Braddock, Tim Long, and Vicky Meyer.

Professional Facilities

The College is home to some of the largest studio facilities dedicated exclusively to motion picture education.  Students learn the art of live-action production through a hands-on, project-centered curriculum, and work with a range of professional-grade equipment and facilities, including sound stages, mixing theatres, RED cameras, post production studios, and grip and camera trucks.

Financial Assistance for Productions

FSU is the only motion picture college in the country that pays the production costs of every student’s motion picture, creating a level playing field so students can focus on art, craft, and imagination.  To ensure that this high caliber of education is available to the most talented student regardless of financial means, the university offers generous scholarships and assistantships, and tuition costs that are among the lowest in the country.

Career-Centered Curriculum

The College’s administration strives to transition graduates seamlessly into the industry.  Every graduate has the opportunity to be assigned to a mentor, who coordinates with faculty and staff to create career plans for students as they leave the program.  This provides more than 97% of the College’s graduates with meaningful work in the motion picture and television industry within 12 months of graduation.

Active Alumni

The College of Motion Picture Arts alumni include screenwriters Ron Friedman (Chicken Little and Open Season), Matthew Lopez (Race to Witch Mountain and the Sorcerer’s Apprentice) and Melissa Carter Newman (Little Black Book and Life As We Know It), executives Jonathan King, Executive Vice President of Participant Productions (An Inconvenient Truth and Lincoln) and Amy Kennedy, of Princess Pictures, and directors Greg Marcks (11:14), David Mitchell (Myth of the American Sleepover), Josh Tickell (documentary award winner fields of Fuel), Barry Jenkins (Medicine for Melancholy) and Frank Longo (National Lampoon’s Repli-Kate).  Our alumni can be found in every facet of the entertainment business, and they return to the College often to share their experience in the industry.